How to Needle Felt

Inspired by Miriam’s cards, I made a needle felt seascape as a Wedding pressie for the lovely Dickie and Kate.

So I thought I’d show you how to make a fluffy seascape….

You’ll need:
  1. felting needle- I used 36 gauge.
  2. background fabric
  3. bit of sponge
  4. felting wool- merino
  5. messy bits- wool,netting feathers, beads to stitch on….
  6. Oh, and a little bit of imagination

Place your background fabric onto the sponge, and lay down your first wool threads and a bit of felt fluff. I tried to add a sense of depth by placing thicker, brighter threads in the foreground of the felty picture.

Now this is the fun bit- stab the pile of wool and fluff! Really go for it, I like to think about annoying kids I teach….

While in your stabbing frenzy, make sure you secure down all the loose bits. Basicly, the felting needle has little teeth on it and as you stab,  it catches the fibres and pulls them through to the underside of the background fabric.

Not a great pic, but you get the idea.

So this took me about 1 min of manic stabbing, and its done!

If I was going to give this to someone, I’d probably frame it- but I do like the wiggley threads escaping…..

PLEASE let me know what you think… this is my very first ‘How to..’ post!! If you’d like to know how we make anything else, just ask. Bex x

Comments
5 Responses to “How to Needle Felt”
  1. miriammcclay says:

    Brilliant Miss Anstiss – can totally relate to the comment about kids!! x

  2. notfrangible says:

    This is exactly the kind of guide an idiot like me needs – thanks, Bex; I shall give it a go as soon as I find one o them there needles. A use for all the saved bits! Hooray!

  3. jemigo says:

    It’s looking good ladies. Looks like you have this blogging malarky all under control already. I love the needle felting seascape. Maybe I will give this a go….

  4. Jen Beetson says:

    Looks fab lovelies xxx

Leave a Reply

