Abstracting Fused Glass Seascapes

I’d made a couple of 30cm x 30cm fused glass seascapes a couple of months ago. When they came out the kiln, I was so disappointed with them, to pictorial, to obvious…….what an expensive waste, I  just wrapped them in newspaper and stuffed them at the back of my cupboard.

But after using the viewfinders with the felt seascape, I wondered if cropping down would improve the glass work….. so I started to cut it up….I cut each piece into small abstracted pieces of glass, placed them on some ceramic fibre paper to stop them sticking to the kiln shelf and fired them up to 780 C. For anyone interested the programme was……

  • UP 80 C/hr to 500 C
  • UP 250 C/hr to 780 C
  • Soak for 20 mins
  • Down 150 C/hr to 520 C
  • END

Once they’d had this low firing, just to smooth the edges, they looked loads better. I love cracking open the kiln, I never know what to expect….. a runny glassy mess all over the kiln shelves or yummy twinkley eye candy! Think this lot is definately eye candy 🙂

So heres a few close up photos,

                                   

                                                    

still room for improvement, but at least now I feel like I’m going in the right direction with my fused glass. Bx

Comments
5 Responses to “Abstracting Fused Glass Seascapes”
  1. miriammcclay says:

    Think we should do something about framing next. What do you reckon?

  2. Fran says:

    I love all this sharing you do – makes it much more interesting than just seeing the finished pieces. Concur with eye candy verdict!

  3. Vicki says:

    Love your pieces, real eye candy. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

