How to make a List

I’m a compulsive list maker.

There, I’ve said it, now everyone to knows!

Everyday I make a list, sometimes I make lists of lists. To cheer up a dreary looking list, weighed down with renewing the car insurance or something, I write easy things on it like ‘Have a cup of Tea’ ‘stroke the cat’ ‘don’t forget to ring Mum’ or ‘write something on the blog’!

Talking to other Art teachers, some write lists some don’t…..

I’d lie awake worrying I’d forgotten something if I didn’t have the security of a list. Lists make me feel safe. Even horrid things look OK on a list, sandwiched between ‘have a natter with Miriam’ and  ‘dead head the dalihas’

So I started looking at other Artists that write lists… seems like I’m not alone! Love this one…..

01_ToDo_35_Konrad[1A]Adolf Konrad Packing List
Ca. 1962-63
2 pp. (1 Folio) excerpted, watercolor and ink

and in this one, the Artist lists and grades his attributes. Think Miriam and me should do one!

Harry Bertoia “May-Self Rating Chart” School Assignment
1932

After looking at all these brilliantly crazy lists, I’ve decided I’m in good company!

Bex xx

Comments
4 Responses to “How to make a List”
  1. fatkunj says:

    have you read the checklist manifesto by atul gawande? you might like it based on this post at least.

    http://thatguyisajerk.wordpress.com/

  2. miriammcclay says:

    Aw Bex – people will start thinking we’re organised!

  3. Jenn says:

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. Nice to meet you, I am enjoying looking around here. Must say that I laughed out loud at this post because I too, loooove my lists!

Leave a Reply

