The Forest’s Cloak

 

My most recent artwork is at Taurus Crafts from 18th February – 25th March 2017. Pop along and have a look and a coffee and cake! Here’s the exhibition statement:

I am delighted to be returning to Taurus Crafts to exhibit once again. It’s a wonderful creative and supportive environment, celebrating diversity and everything local. This exhibition is called ‘The Forest’s Cloak’, and it brings together a collection of paintings exploring, through colour and mark-making, the ancient Forest of Dean and surrounding area. To me, a cloak evokes many things: somehow Celtic, medieval, magical, mysterious, enveloping and secure. My experience of the forest touches on all of these things and for a number of years now this has been the focus of my artwork. I have lived in The Forest of Dean for nearly 25 years and I love the old-fashioned feel of its little towns and villages and the timeless wonder of the forest itself. My early childhood was spent in Ireland and something quite elemental about the forest connects me also with this place and time.

When I’m not painting I am a mum of two; my eldest is now in her second year of university and my son is soon to be a teenager – yikes! I teach art full-time in a local secondary school. I have been teaching for 22 years and, although education faces many challenges, I consider myself lucky to be surrounded with creativity and colour every day. And I sing. My band is called Beyond the Blue and it just seems natural to be equally creative with the colours of sound and voice.

Miriam McClay February 2017

 

http://www.miriammcclay.com

Leave a Reply

